Independent BC + AI pilot

BC Public Compute Registry

A readable record of major compute projects in British Columbia: who owns them, what they consume, what they promise and what they deliver. The pilot shows what is known, what remains unknown and where a promise has not yet become a result.

What you are looking at

This pilot contains two record types: clearly labelled fictional demonstrations and staged public-source records. It is not an official registry, an approval, a legal finding or a ranking.

Before broader publication

Public-source records are available for review, not presented as a complete public directory. Named subjects receive a factual correction opportunity before broader publication, alongside privacy, security and stewardship review.

Every displayed value carries a source and status. Requested, allocated, contracted and connected megawatts stay distinct. Unknown or not disclosed never becomes zero.

Hundreds of scanned document pages tiled into a dense grid on black, four of them marked in lime green.

Pilot coverage · not an inventory

4

source-backed records staged for factual review, deliberately shown as a small evidence set rather than a complete map.

Places represented
City of Burnaby · City of Kamloops · City of Vancouver
Lifecycle stages represented
Application · Approved · Operating

Method, disclosure and corrections

Evidence first

Every displayed value carries a source reference, a value state, and effective or reporting context. Requested, allocated, contracted and connected MW stay separate fields. Unknown, not disclosed, disputed, superseded and not applicable never become zero.

Four disclosure layers

Public, aggregated, protected and Nation-controlled information are classified field by field. Authorized governance decisions determine what may publish. One projection layer enforces them: the public projection strips protected and Nation-controlled material on the server before anything renders or downloads. The registry does not identify or determine rights holders, consultation or accommodation duties, consent, engineering feasibility, security posture, or legal compliance.

Corrections and versions

Material changes append history instead of overwriting it; the demonstration records include a worked supersession example. The public correction workflow and versioning governance are defined in the project governance contract. The no-editorial-veto principle does not override Nation-controlled disclosure authority, privacy, security, legal duties, or protected-information rules. Challenge a source or flag an error through the contact route.

Downloads

The machine-readable download uses the same public-safe projection as this page and carries its schema version and fictional-data warning. A versioned prototype workbook and field guide are being prepared for an accessible public release.

Download the public projection (JSON)

Definitions that refuse to collapse

These terms are imported from the canonical terminology pack. A project is never just “50 MW”: the registry records which MW, under which instrument, for which period.

Swipe horizontally to inspect the full diagram →

One megawatt, five different words: five capacity measures that must not be collapsed into one number
Requested, allocated, contracted, connected and actual are five different measurements, not five words for one number. The equal bands separate the words; they do not show a quantity or ratio.
Read this figure as text
The five stages of electricity capacity, from earliest and least binding to latest and physically measured. The stages are ordered, but no proportion between them is shown.
StageTermWhat it measuresWho decidesWhere it is recorded
01: RequestedPC-TRM-001Capacity a proponent asks the utility or call process to consider. Eligible 2026 Call for Demand requests are bounded from 10 to 145 MW.ProponentApplication request
02: AllocatedPC-TRM-002Capacity a competitive process or regulation makes available to a selected project or sector window. Selection does not energize a site.BC Hydro under B.C. Reg. 8/2026Call selection outcome
03: ContractedPC-TRM-003Capacity written into a binding supply, interconnection or facilities agreement.BC Hydro and the proponentBinding agreement
04: ConnectedPC-TRM-004Capacity actually interconnected and able to draw service, or the in-service peak recognized by the utility.BC Hydro interconnectionUtility in-service records
05: ActualPC-Q-002What the facility measurably draws in operation, recorded as peak demand and annual energy rather than a fifth MW term.Physical operationMetered operating data
  • Equal bands, on purpose. The figure shows no proportion between stages, and the measures must never be summed or relabelled as one another.
  • A project can remain at any stage for years and may never reach the next. Those gaps are where requested capacity is often quoted as if it were connected capacity.
  • Absence is shown as “not disclosed” or “not yet reached,” never as zero.
requested MW
The electrical capacity, in megawatts, that a proponent asks a utility or competitive process to consider. In the 2026 CFD this is the application request, bounded at 10–145 MW for eligible projects.Limit: A request is not a right to service.BC Hydro 2026 Call for Demand RFA (2026-02-01)B.C. Reg. 8/2026
allocated MW
Capacity a competitive process or regulation makes available to a selected project or to a sector window. Under B.C. Reg. 8/2026 and the CFD, selection makes a project eligible to enter or keep an interconnection-queue position. It does not, by itself, energize a site.Limit: Sector windows (100 MW storage / 300 MW AI in the first two-year period, with unused storage available to AI) are availability caps, not connected load.B.C. Reg. 8/2026BC Hydro 2026 Call for Demand RFA (2026-02-01)B.C. Industrial Electricity Allocation Framework (updated 2026-03-31)
contracted MW
Capacity that appears in a binding electricity-supply, interconnection, or facilities agreement. Distinct from CFD selection and from in-service load.Limit: The CFD RFA does not itself create the supply contract. Naming a contract MW figure requires the agreement or an official public extract.BC Hydro 2026 Call for Demand RFA (2026-02-01)BC Hydro Electric Tariff
connected MW
Capacity that is actually interconnected and capable of drawing service, or the in-service peak the utility recognizes. Energized load, not a press-release allocation.Limit: Connected MW can be lower than contracted or allocated MW. Never label a CFD window as connected MW.BC Hydro 2026 Call for Demand RFA (2026-02-01)BC Hydro Emerging industries connections page
PUE and reporting boundary
Power Usage Effectiveness as defined by ISO/IEC 30134-2: total data-centre energy divided by IT equipment energy, with a stated measurement category and boundary (what meters, what on-site generation, what mixed-use space is in or out).Limit: PUE is not carbon, water, or compute efficiency. A number without category and boundary is not comparable.ISO/IEC 30134-2:2026 (PUE)
WUE and reporting boundary
Water Usage Effectiveness as defined by ISO/IEC 30134-9: water consumed per unit of IT equipment energy, with source and boundary stated (on-site vs source water, direct vs electricity-related water).Limit: WUE is not a watershed-stress metric and must not mix withdrawal with consumption.ISO/IEC 30134-9:2022 (WUE)LBNL CoE, Water Efficiency

How values are labelled

Every value in the registry carries one of these states, drawn from the canonical schema. The state is part of the data, not a styling detail.

Reported
A stated value with its source, boundary and period attached.
Unknown
The field is in scope and no public value exists yet. Unknown is not zero.
Not publicly disclosed
The field is in scope and the public record does not contain it.
Not applicable
The field does not apply to this record at this lifecycle stage.
Disputed
Cited sources conflict or a public challenge exists. Both sides stay on the record.
Superseded
A later record replaces this value. The prior value stays in history.

Browse the records

Clear

Showing 6 of 6 records

Registry records: 6 total, including 4 staged from public sources and 2 fictional demonstration records. Columns are record, record type, lifecycle status, location, organizations and current source.
RecordRecord typeLifecycle statusMunicipality or regionOwner and operatorCurrent source
DEMO: Cedar Sandbox Compute Campus (fictional)

DEMO-FAC-001

Fictional demonstration recordFeasibilityDEMO Regional District (fictional)DEMO Cedar Sandbox Cooperative (fictional)ownerDEMO Compute Operations Ltd. (fictional)operatorPC-SRC-DEMO-002
DEMO: Cedar Sandbox Phase Two (fictional)

DEMO-FAC-002

Fictional demonstration recordInquiryNot in the public recordNot in the public recordPC-SRC-DEMO-001
111 East 5th Avenue rezoning site, Mount Pleasant, Vancouver

PC-FAC-001

Public-source recordApplicationCity of VancouverWestbank Corp.rezoning-applicantCity of Vancouverlocal-government-authorityPC-SRC-101
150 West Georgia Street data centre site, downtown Vancouver

PC-FAC-002

Public-source recordApprovedCity of VancouverWestbank Corp.borrower-developerAllied Properties Real Estate Investment Trustsecured-lenderTELUS Communications Inc.announced-operator-not-confirmedPC-SRC-104
TELUS Kamloops data centre and Kamloops AI Factory

PC-FAC-003

Public-source recordOperatingCity of KamloopsTELUS Communications Inc.owner-operatorBritish Columbia Hydro and Power Authorityelectricity-supplier-stated-by-proponentPC-SRC-102
Fir at the Cedar Supercomputing Centre, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby

PC-FAC-004

Public-source recordOperatingCity of BurnabySimon Fraser Universityhost-institutionDigital Research Alliance of Canadafunder-allocatorPC-SRC-107

Related and phased projects

  • Records DEMO-FAC-001 and DEMO-FAC-002 are flagged for aggregation review as a BC + AI recommendation. This flag is not a legal determination that the fictional phases form one project.
  • Records PC-FAC-002 and PC-FAC-003 are flagged for aggregation review as a BC + AI recommendation. TELUS presents 150 West Georgia and the Kamloops facility as parts of one B.C. cluster with a shared initial power figure and a shared capacity trajectory. This flag is a BC + AI recommendation to review them together. It is not a legal determination that they form one project. The 111 East 5th Avenue record is not included because the public record BC + AI retrieved does not confirm it is the M3 facility named in the proponent release.