Challenge or correct the record
Name the claim or source ID, explain what appears wrong, and point to public evidence we can check. Material corrections append to project history rather than silently replacing the prior record.
Request a correctionTrace consequential project statements to public sources. See what kind of statement each one is, how its sources are classified, and what the evidence does not establish.
BC + AI publishes this independent public-interest prototype. It is not a regulator, utility, Crown decision-maker, Nation government, official registry, or source of legal or engineering advice.
Read the labels first
A currently in-force statute, regulation, or other binding legal instrument in a named jurisdiction. Quote the instrument; do not paraphrase it into a broader duty.
4 claims
policy/guidanceCurrent government, utility, or regulator policy, guidance, engagement material, or process document. It may describe how an authority intends to act; it is not itself a court judgment or a complete legal opinion.
4 claims
standard/comparatorAn external standard, KPI definition, technical paper, or another jurisdiction's model. It may clarify a design choice. It is not B.C. authority unless a B.C. instrument adopts it.
7 claims
BC + AI recommendationA proposed BC + AI model, disclosure rule, or public-interest test. Not adopted as organizational policy until a named adoption process says so. Not advice to any decision-maker.
2 claims
inferenceA reading that follows from cited sources but is not stated verbatim in any one of them. Must remain attached to those source IDs.
5 claims
unresolved questionA material gap, conflict, or rights question that this pack records and does not answer. Includes Nation-specific, legal, utility, engineering, privacy/security, and accessibility review items.
3 claims
A currently in-force statute, regulation, or other binding legal instrument in a named jurisdiction. Quote the instrument; do not paraphrase it into a broader duty.
The first two-year window is described in the 2026-01-30 news release as 'as much as 400 megawatts' and in regulation/CFD as 100 MW conventional/storage plus 300 MW AI (plus unused storage). That figure is an availability cap, not connected MW.
Do not collapse this into
B.C. has connected 400 MW of AI data centres.
Province of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. Reg. 8/2026. Binding regulation that caps new capacity BC Hydro may make available and requires competitive processes. Caps are not connected-MW totals.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/8_2026BC Hydro · utility process
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary utility process document. Selected applicants become eligible to enter or keep a queue position. BC Hydro may reduce the Storage or AI MW allocations. Unsuccessful applicants are ineligible to enter, or are removed from, the interconnection queue. Confidentiality and FOIPPA clauses apply to applications; do not commit application materials.
https://app.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/accounts-billing/electrical-connections/2026-cfd-request-for-applications.pdfCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Beneficial owner, operator, parent/control entity, related project, and change of control are separate fields. A LOTR or CBCA hit is not a complete control map.
Do not collapse this into
The land-title name is the operator and the parent.
Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 2019 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Creates a public registry of certain beneficial interests in land. It is not a complete beneficial-ownership registry for operating companies, parent entities, or compute contracts. Do not treat a LOTR hit as a full control map.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/19023Corporations Canada / ISED · law/regulation
Published January 22, 2024 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Federal CBCA filing and partial public disclosure of individuals with significant control, in force 2024-01-22. Applies to federal corporations, not automatically to B.C.-incorporated entities. B.C. corporate transparency remains a separate, version-sensitive question (PC-REV-008).
https://ised-isde.canada.ca/site/corporations-canada/en/individuals-significant-controlProvince of British Columbia / Land Title and Survey Authority of B.C. · policy/guidance
Published November 30, 2020 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official description of LOTR. LTSA operates the registry; the Province enforces LOTA. Public search is not a complete picture of operators, parents, or related compute projects.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/housing-tenancy/real-estate-bc/land-owner-transparency-registryCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Local governments do not allocate BC Hydro transmission or generation capacity and do not run the Call for Demand.
Do not collapse this into
Council can award the town 50 MW of clean power.
Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. Reg. 8/2026. Binding regulation that caps new capacity BC Hydro may make available and requires competitive processes. Caps are not connected-MW totals.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/8_2026Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 2015 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Governs most municipalities and regional districts. City of Vancouver uses the Vancouver Charter, not this Act, for comparable zoning hearings. Public hearings are not always required or even permitted; see s. 464 and later housing-statute amendments.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/r15001_14Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 1996 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Constitutes BC Hydro. Does not give BC + AI, local governments, or this pack any utility power.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/96212_01Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Public hearings are not always required. Housing-statute amendments prohibit hearings in some zoning cases. City of Vancouver uses the Vancouver Charter.
Do not collapse this into
Every data-centre rezoning gets a public hearing.
Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 2015 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Governs most municipalities and regional districts. City of Vancouver uses the Vancouver Charter, not this Act, for comparable zoning hearings. Public hearings are not always required or even permitted; see s. 464 and later housing-statute amendments.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/r15001_14Ministry of Housing and Municipal Affairs (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Provincial guidance summarizing when hearings are required, optional, or prohibited. Guidance, not a substitute for the Local Government Act or Vancouver Charter.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/governments/local-governments/planning-land-use/local-government-planning/engagement-on-local-planning-land-use/public-hearingsProvince of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 1953 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
City of Vancouver planning and hearing rules live here, not in the Local Government Act. Toolkit copy must branch Vancouver vs other local governments.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/vanch_00Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Current government, utility, or regulator policy, guidance, engagement material, or process document. It may describe how an authority intends to act; it is not itself a court judgment or a complete legal opinion.
B.C. clean electricity is valuable and finite. Emerging AI and data-centre requests are large enough that the Province created a paced allocation framework rather than serving every request first-come, first-served.
Do not collapse this into
B.C. has unlimited clean power for AI.
Ministry of Energy and Climate Solutions (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official provincial policy page describing Bill 31, engagement, the 10 MW threshold, queue-treatment rules, and the 300/100/200 MW two-year call breakdown. Policy/guidance weight, not a substitute for B.C. Reg. 8/2026.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/industry/electricity-alternative-energy/electricity/industrial-electricity-allocation-frameworkProvince of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095Legislative Assembly of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published November 19, 2025 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary B.C. statute enabling regulations that restrict or condition electricity service for listed purposes, including storage or processing of electronic data. Royal Assent reported 2025-11-27. Read the in-force Utilities Commission Act text before quoting a duty.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/bills/billsprevious/1st43rd:gov31-3Correction state: No published correction recorded.
CFD selection makes a project eligible to enter or keep an interconnection-queue position. It is not a supply contract and not an in-service connection.
Do not collapse this into
Winners were awarded power.
BC Hydro · utility process
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary utility process document. Selected applicants become eligible to enter or keep a queue position. BC Hydro may reduce the Storage or AI MW allocations. Unsuccessful applicants are ineligible to enter, or are removed from, the interconnection queue. Confidentiality and FOIPPA clauses apply to applications; do not commit application materials.
https://app.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/accounts-billing/electrical-connections/2026-cfd-request-for-applications.pdfMinistry of Energy and Climate Solutions (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official provincial policy page describing Bill 31, engagement, the 10 MW threshold, queue-treatment rules, and the 300/100/200 MW two-year call breakdown. Policy/guidance weight, not a substitute for B.C. Reg. 8/2026.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/industry/electricity-alternative-energy/electricity/industrial-electricity-allocation-frameworkCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Projects with a signed transmission Facilities Study Agreement or a paid distribution Design Deposit as of the reference date continue under the existing interconnection process and are not proof of CFD participation.
Do not collapse this into
Every large B.C. AI site went through the 2026 call.
Province of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095Ministry of Energy and Climate Solutions (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official provincial policy page describing Bill 31, engagement, the 10 MW threshold, queue-treatment rules, and the 300/100/200 MW two-year call breakdown. Policy/guidance weight, not a substitute for B.C. Reg. 8/2026.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/industry/electricity-alternative-energy/electricity/industrial-electricity-allocation-frameworkBC Hydro · utility process
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary utility process document. Selected applicants become eligible to enter or keep a queue position. BC Hydro may reduce the Storage or AI MW allocations. Unsuccessful applicants are ineligible to enter, or are removed from, the interconnection queue. Confidentiality and FOIPPA clauses apply to applications; do not commit application materials.
https://app.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/accounts-billing/electrical-connections/2026-cfd-request-for-applications.pdfCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
The federal government can fund or brand sovereign-compute projects. That does not allocate BC Hydro capacity or grant B.C. land-use approval.
Do not collapse this into
A federal MOU assigned B.C. megawatts.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Federal program/strategy page. Federal funding or branding does not allocate BC Hydro capacity and does not create B.C. land-use approval.
https://ised-isde.canada.ca/site/ised/en/canadian-sovereign-ai-compute-strategyProvince of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. Reg. 8/2026. Binding regulation that caps new capacity BC Hydro may make available and requires competitive processes. Caps are not connected-MW totals.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/8_2026Correction state: No published correction recorded.
An external standard, KPI definition, technical paper, or another jurisdiction's model. It may clarify a design choice. It is not B.C. authority unless a B.C. instrument adopts it.
Water withdrawal and water consumption are different measurements. Public claims must label which one they use.
Do not collapse this into
The site uses X litres of water without saying withdrawn or consumed.
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 39 · standard
Published 2022 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL paywalled
Current international WUE definition. WUE is water consumed per unit of IT equipment energy, not withdrawal, and not a local watershed-stress test. Secondary commentary notes a review may be underway; treat 2022 as current until a new edition is published.
https://www.iso.org/standard/77692.htmlLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Center of Expertise for Energy Efficiency in Data Centers · technical paper
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Technical guidance distinguishing cooling types and water metrics. Standard/comparator. Not a B.C. water licence.
https://datacenters.lbl.gov/water-efficiencyCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
'Closed loop' does not mean zero water. A recirculating chilled-water loop can still evaporate water at a cooling tower.
Do not collapse this into
Closed-loop cooling solves water impact.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Center of Expertise for Energy Efficiency in Data Centers · technical paper
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Technical guidance distinguishing cooling types and water metrics. Standard/comparator. Not a B.C. water licence.
https://datacenters.lbl.gov/water-efficiencyGovernment of Ontario · comparator
Published August 13, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Draft Ontario consultation, open 2026-08-13 to 2026-09-12. Comparator only. Proposes a three-pillar assessment and explores a separate rate class for new data centres above a demand threshold (example: 1 MW). Not B.C. law.
https://ero.ontario.ca/notice/026-0853Correction state: No published correction recorded.
PUE without an ISO/IEC 30134-2 measurement category and reporting boundary is not comparable across facilities.
Do not collapse this into
This facility is efficient because PUE is 1.2, with no boundary.
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 39 · standard
Published January 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL paywalled
Current international PUE definition. Paywalled standard. The Green Grid originated PUE; genuine PUE now means this ISO/IEC definition, including measurement categories and reporting boundaries. A marketing PUE without category and boundary is not this metric.
https://www.iso.org/standard/30134-2Correction state: No published correction recorded.
WUE is consumed water per IT energy under ISO/IEC 30134-9. It is not withdrawal, not electricity-related water unless the boundary says so, and not a watershed-stress test.
Do not collapse this into
Low WUE means the local watershed is fine.
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 39 · standard
Published 2022 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL paywalled
Current international WUE definition. WUE is water consumed per unit of IT equipment energy, not withdrawal, and not a local watershed-stress test. Secondary commentary notes a review may be underway; treat 2022 as current until a new edition is published.
https://www.iso.org/standard/77692.htmlLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Center of Expertise for Energy Efficiency in Data Centers · technical paper
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Technical guidance distinguishing cooling types and water metrics. Standard/comparator. Not a B.C. water licence.
https://datacenters.lbl.gov/water-efficiencyCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Heat that exists is not heat that is technically or economically recovered. Heat-reuse claims need temperature, offtaker, hours, and preferably an ERF.
Do not collapse this into
The project will heat the neighbourhood, with no offtaker or temperature.
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 39 · standard
Published 2021 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL paywalled
Defines energy reused outside the data centre. Heat that exists is not the same as heat that is technically or economically recovered. ERF is a standard/comparator, not a B.C. permit condition.
https://www.iso.org/standard/71717.htmlCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Ontario's August 2026 Data Centre Playbook is a draft consultation in another province. It is a comparator, not B.C. law.
Do not collapse this into
Canadian provinces now require the Ontario Playbook test.
Government of Ontario · comparator
Published August 13, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Draft Ontario consultation, open 2026-08-13 to 2026-09-12. Comparator only. Proposes a three-pillar assessment and explores a separate rate class for new data centres above a demand threshold (example: 1 MW). Not B.C. law.
https://ero.ontario.ca/notice/026-0853Government of Ontario · comparator
Published August 13, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release describing the draft Playbook, full-cost electricity language, and 30-day ERO/ORR consultation. Comparator. Economic-growth figures in the release are Ontario government claims, not BC + AI findings.
https://news.ontario.ca/en/release/1007871/ontario-launches-data-centre-playbookCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Global and U.S. data-centre electricity shares (IEA, LBNL) can look modest while a local grid or watershed absorbs a very large impact.
Do not collapse this into
Data centres use only 1.5% of electricity, so local concern is misplaced.
International Energy Agency · technical paper
Published April 10, 2025 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
IEA special report. States data centres used about 1.5% of global electricity in 2024 (415 TWh) and projects roughly 945 TWh by 2030 in the Base Case. Also warns of geographic concentration. Global figures are not B.C. allocation facts.
https://www.iea.org/reports/energy-and-aiLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory · technical paper
Published December 19, 2024 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
U.S. technical paper often cited via DOE. U.S. percentages are not B.C. grid facts. Useful for why national averages hide local concentration.
https://eta.lbl.gov/publications/2024-lbnl-data-center-energy-usage-reportCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
A proposed BC + AI model, disclosure rule, or public-interest test. Not adopted as organizational policy until a named adoption process says so. Not advice to any decision-maker.
Requested, allocated, contracted, and connected MW are four different fields and must not be summed or relabelled as one another.
Do not collapse this into
The project is a 50 MW project without saying which MW.
BC Hydro · utility process
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary utility process document. Selected applicants become eligible to enter or keep a queue position. BC Hydro may reduce the Storage or AI MW allocations. Unsuccessful applicants are ineligible to enter, or are removed from, the interconnection queue. Confidentiality and FOIPPA clauses apply to applications; do not commit application materials.
https://app.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/accounts-billing/electrical-connections/2026-cfd-request-for-applications.pdfProvince of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. Reg. 8/2026. Binding regulation that caps new capacity BC Hydro may make available and requires competitive processes. Caps are not connected-MW totals.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/8_2026Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Community-benefit promises, local procurement, public compute access, and delivered outcomes are four fields. Do not report a promise as a delivered outcome.
Do not collapse this into
The project will create 400 jobs, listed as a delivered outcome.
Province of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095Correction state: No published correction recorded.
A reading that follows from cited sources but is not stated verbatim in any one of them. Must remain attached to those source IDs.
AI and data-centre facilities are physical industrial infrastructure: land, electricity, cooling, water decisions, transmission, backup generation, and community consent.
Do not collapse this into
AI is weightless or 'just software in a warehouse.'
International Energy Agency · technical paper
Published April 10, 2025 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
IEA special report. States data centres used about 1.5% of global electricity in 2024 (415 TWh) and projects roughly 945 TWh by 2030 in the Base Case. Also warns of geographic concentration. Global figures are not B.C. allocation facts.
https://www.iea.org/reports/energy-and-aiProvince of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Sitting on a high-renewable utility mix is not the same as additionality. A new large load can still crowd out other electrification or pull on the margin.
Do not collapse this into
Because BC Hydro is mostly hydro, the project is additional clean energy.
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 39 · standard
Published 2016 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL paywalled
Facility-level renewable-energy share metric. REF is not additionality. A high REF on a hydro-dominated grid does not prove the load caused new clean generation.
https://www.iso.org/standard/66127.htmlMinistry of Energy and Climate Solutions (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official provincial policy page describing Bill 31, engagement, the 10 MW threshold, queue-treatment rules, and the 300/100/200 MW two-year call breakdown. Policy/guidance weight, not a substitute for B.C. Reg. 8/2026.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/industry/electricity-alternative-energy/electricity/industrial-electricity-allocation-frameworkInternational Energy Agency · technical paper
Published April 10, 2025 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
IEA special report. States data centres used about 1.5% of global electricity in 2024 (415 TWh) and projects roughly 945 TWh by 2030 in the Base Case. Also warns of geographic concentration. Global figures are not B.C. allocation facts.
https://www.iea.org/reports/energy-and-aiCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
One cross-hardware compute scalar (for example 'H100-equivalent' or 'MW of compute') is unreliable. Compute capacity is hardware-specific.
Do not collapse this into
The site is a 2-exascale / 10,000-GPU-equivalent facility without naming chips and dates.
International Energy Agency · technical paper
Published April 10, 2025 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
IEA special report. States data centres used about 1.5% of global electricity in 2024 (415 TWh) and projects roughly 945 TWh by 2030 in the Base Case. Also warns of geographic concentration. Global figures are not B.C. allocation facts.
https://www.iea.org/reports/energy-and-aiLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory · technical paper
Published December 19, 2024 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
U.S. technical paper often cited via DOE. U.S. percentages are not B.C. grid facts. Useful for why national averages hide local concentration.
https://eta.lbl.gov/publications/2024-lbnl-data-center-energy-usage-reportCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
The Province does not, through the CFD, replace local land-use authority or Nation rights.
Do not collapse this into
Winning the CFD is a provincial permit to build.
Ministry of Energy and Climate Solutions (B.C.) · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official provincial policy page describing Bill 31, engagement, the 10 MW threshold, queue-treatment rules, and the 300/100/200 MW two-year call breakdown. Policy/guidance weight, not a substitute for B.C. Reg. 8/2026.
https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/industry/electricity-alternative-energy/electricity/industrial-electricity-allocation-frameworkProvince of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published November 28, 2019 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. statute requiring alignment of provincial laws with UNDRIP and an action plan developed in consultation and cooperation with Indigenous Peoples. It does not authorize this pack, BC + AI, or a municipal toolkit to decide Nation-specific disclosure or consent rules.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/19044Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 2015 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Governs most municipalities and regional districts. City of Vancouver uses the Vancouver Charter, not this Act, for comparable zoning hearings. Public hearings are not always required or even permitted; see s. 464 and later housing-statute amendments.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/r15001_14Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Data residency is not data control. Remote administration, subcontracting, and lawful-access paths can sit outside the resident jurisdiction.
Do not collapse this into
Servers in B.C. means the data is sovereign.
Parliament of Canada · law/regulation
Published 2000 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Federal private-sector privacy statute. Data residency is not automatically required by PIPEDA. Do not equate 'sovereign capability' with a PIPEDA citation.
https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/P-8.6/Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Federal program/strategy page. Federal funding or branding does not allocate BC Hydro capacity and does not create B.C. land-use approval.
https://ised-isde.canada.ca/site/ised/en/canadian-sovereign-ai-compute-strategyCanadian Centre for Cyber Security · policy/guidance
Published date unavailable · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Federal cyber guidance portal. Individual ITSG/ITSP documents must be cited by number when a registry field claims a specific control baseline. This pack does not select a baseline.
https://www.cyber.gc.ca/en/guidanceCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
A material gap, conflict, or rights question that this pack records and does not answer. Includes Nation-specific, legal, utility, engineering, privacy/security, and accessibility review items.
Nation-controlled information is not a subset of ordinary commercial confidentiality and is not a municipal FOI residual category.
Do not collapse this into
We redacted Nation materials under the same heading as trade secrets.
First Nations Information Governance Centre · standard
Published 1998 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL unavailable
OCAP® is a registered trademark of FNIGC. It is a First Nations information-governance standard, not a subset of commercial confidentiality and not a municipal FOI exception. Required citation: OCAP® is a registered trademark of the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC); see www.FNIGC.ca. This pack does not apply OCAP® to a named Nation or invent Nation-specific rules.
https://fnigc.ca/ocap-training/Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published November 28, 2019 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. statute requiring alignment of provincial laws with UNDRIP and an action plan developed in consultation and cooperation with Indigenous Peoples. It does not authorize this pack, BC + AI, or a municipal toolkit to decide Nation-specific disclosure or consent rules.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/19044Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published 1996 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Governs public-body records and personal-information holdings. It is not a licence to publish Nation-controlled information, and it is not a substitute for OCAP®.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/96165_00Correction state: No published correction recorded.
This pack does not decide Nation-specific disclosure or consent rules. Those require Nation-led work (#1995) and remain unresolved here.
Do not collapse this into
Best practice is for Nations to disclose X.
Province of British Columbia · law/regulation
Published November 28, 2019 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
B.C. statute requiring alignment of provincial laws with UNDRIP and an action plan developed in consultation and cooperation with Indigenous Peoples. It does not authorize this pack, BC + AI, or a municipal toolkit to decide Nation-specific disclosure or consent rules.
https://www.bclaws.gov.bc.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/19044Province of British Columbia · policy/guidance
Published March 30, 2022 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Five-year action plan required by s. 4 of the Declaration Act. Policy/guidance implementing a statute. It does not authorize BC + AI to speak for Nations or to design a First Nations pathway (see #1995, PC-REV-001).
https://declaration.gov.bc.ca/declaration-act-action-plan/First Nations Information Governance Centre · standard
Published 1998 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL unavailable
OCAP® is a registered trademark of FNIGC. It is a First Nations information-governance standard, not a subset of commercial confidentiality and not a municipal FOI exception. Required citation: OCAP® is a registered trademark of the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC); see www.FNIGC.ca. This pack does not apply OCAP® to a named Nation or invent Nation-specific rules.
https://fnigc.ca/ocap-training/Correction state: No published correction recorded.
Named-facility electricity shares (for example a public claim that one proponent holds 38% of the two-year allocation) are disputed until queue status, CFD participation, and which MW term is meant are independently verified.
Do not collapse this into
Repeat the 38% figure as an official allocation fact.
BC + AI / Kris Krüg · public record
Published May 12, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Already-published BC + AI News letter. Usable for already-public organizational voice. Facility-specific claims inside it remain proponent-reported or disputed until independently verified. Membership counts in that letter are dated May 2026 and are superseded by later approved stats.
https://bc-ai.ca/news/sovereign-ai-for-whomProvince of British Columbia · public record
Published January 30, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Official news release. Use for the announced process, 'as much as 400 MW' wording, well-advanced-project carve-out, and September 2026 notification target. Do not upgrade press language into a connected-MW fact.
https://news.gov.bc.ca/releases/2026ECS0005-000095BC Hydro · utility process
Published February 1, 2026 · Checked August 19, 2026 · URL resolves
Primary utility process document. Selected applicants become eligible to enter or keep a queue position. BC Hydro may reduce the Storage or AI MW allocations. Unsuccessful applicants are ineligible to enter, or are removed from, the interconnection queue. Confidentiality and FOIPPA clauses apply to applications; do not commit application materials.
https://app.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/accounts-billing/electrical-connections/2026-cfd-request-for-applications.pdfCorrection state: No published correction recorded.
Name the claim or source ID, explain what appears wrong, and point to public evidence we can check. Material corrections append to project history rather than silently replacing the prior record.
Request a correction